Simpsons World — The Ultimate Episode Guide: Seasons 1-20

Simpsons creator Matt Groening was on NPR’s Weekend Edition Sunday this morning to talk about The Simpsons “Treehouse of Horror” episodes, which — together with all of The Simpsons episodes from the first 20 years of the television series — are detailed in this new 8.8-pound book:

Simpsons World — The Ultimate Episode Guide: Seasons 1-20

Among other things, the new Simpsons book features:

  • Wraparound slipcase
  • Comprehensive episode synopses
  • Screenshots
  • Over 400 character profiles
  • Every chalkboard phrase Bart Simpson has ever written
  • Every couch gag
  • Every marquee message from the First Church of Springfield
  • A complete list of celebrity guest stars
  • Every “D’oh” or “Mmm…” Homer Simpson has ever uttered

Now yes, I’m a longtime TV viewer and Simpsons fan going back to the first shorts that aired on The Tracey Ullman Show.

More importantly though, I’m a compulsive archivist who views reference books and words like “comprehensive” and “complete list” the same way a junkie views glassine packets of white powder.

I’m also a sucker for anything in a slipcase.

Do I need a 1,200-page compendium of all things Simpsons? Maybe not — but I want it.

I also want The Beatles Stereo Box Set and The Beatles Mono Box Set.

And I want The Complete Monty Python’s Flying Circus 16 Ton Megaset.

Oh, hell — let’s throw in the Blu-ray version of Bruce Springsteen’s The Promise: The Darkness On The Edge of Town Story.

Of course, then I’m going to need a Blu-ray player